State assembly approves LG interim chairmen, deputies in Ondo


The Ondo State House of Assembly has approved the appointment of 51 nominees to head the Interim Management Committee of the 18 local government areas and local council development areas of the state.

The state governor, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, had earlier sent the list of the nominees to the assembly for screening.

After the screening, the House during its plenary on Tuesday, approved the 51 nominees.

Read Also:

Chief Judge writes Ondo Assembly to resume deputy gov’s impeachment process

Some of the new caretaker chairmen and their deputies include Mr Tayo Fayanju (Chairman) Mrs Adewole Busola (Vice Chairman) for Akure North LGA, Mr Ogunniyi Victor (Chairman), Mrs Dapo Funmi (Vice Chairman), for Igba-Otun LCDA, Gbenga Olaniyi (Chairman) Adepoju Dapo (Vice Chairman) for Akure South LGA, Smart Omotadowa (Chairman), Tope Akinfotire (Vice Chairman) for Idanre LGA, Kayode Aroloye (Chairman), Idowu Adesioye (Vice Chairman) for Idanre Central LCDA and Gbogiaran Emmanuel (Chairman) and Abiodun Adeyelu (Vice Chairman) for Akoko South South LCDA

The tenure of the past local government chairmen and their vice chairmen expired some months ago and the newly appointed caretaker chairmen would be in office till February 2024 when the local government election would be held in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *