Lagos house of assembly: Sanwo-Olu sends new nominee list, drops five names from list

The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has transmitted a second list of cabinet member-nominees to the Lagos State House of Assembly.

Former Commissioners for Health Prof. Akin Abayomi and former Commissioner for Information in the state, Olugbenga Omotoso made the new list.

Here is a list of commissioner-nominees

1. Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen

2. Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi

3. Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi

4. Engr. Olalere Odusote

5. Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola

6. Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem

7. Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe

8. Mr. Samuel Egube

9. Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu

10. Mrs. Bolaji Cecelia Dada

11. Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare

12. Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso

13. Mr. Mosopefolu George

14. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje

15. Dr. Olumide Oluyinka

16. Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi

17. Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola

18. Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa

Read Also:

Lagos emerges as the fifth best African city 

Five names were dropped in the new list of commissioners-nominees sent by Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, to the House of Assembly.

The affected nominees are Folashade Adefisayo (Education), Solape Hammond (SDG), Aramide Adeyoye (Works and Infrastructure), Lekan Fatodu, and Rotimi Ogunwuyi.

They were replaced by six new names – Afolabi Tajudeen, Akinyemi Ajigbotafe, Tolani Sule-Akibu, Yekini Agbaje, Iyabode Ayoola, and Sola Giwa.

Clerk of the House of Assembly, Olalekan Onafeko, read the governor’s letter during plenary yesterday.

The speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, thus directed the screening committee, led by the Chief Whip, Fatai Mojeed, to reconvene and start screening the nominees on Tuesday, September 5.

The committee is to report back to the House on Thursday.

The governor’s letter reads: “After careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.

This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state. I am confident these new nominees would bring fresh ideas that would help the growth and progress of Lagos.”

Other names on the list are former commissioners Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy); Prof. Akin Abayomi (Health); Olalere Odusote (Energy); Cecila Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation); Sam Egube (Economic Planning and Budget); as well as Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Yomi Olorunyomi, Rotimi Fashola, Mosopefolu George, Oluwaseun Osiyemi, Mrs. Barakat Bakare, and Olumide Oluyinka.

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly has resolved to review the performance of the 2023 budget in preparation for the presentation of the 2024 budget estimate by Governor Sanwo-Olu. The House approved N1.768 trillion for the Year 2023.

Obasa urged the committee for the budget review, headed by Sa’ad Olumo, to ensure a proper review and make its report available to the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *